Brookes delivers Brands Hatch masterclass to win ahead of finale

Brookes delivers Brands Hatch masterclass to win ahead of finale

18 October 2020

Josh Brookes delivered an inch-perfect performance to win the second Bennetts British Superbike Championship race of the Brands Hatch decider this afternoon, managing the pace from the front to secure his fourth victory of the season for VisionTrack Ducati.

At the start of the race, Tarran Mackenzie grabbed the advantage off the line to lead the pack for McAMS Yamaha into Paddock Hill Bend, but by the time the pack reached Druids for the first time, the VisionTrack Ducati was ahead.

Brookes was trying to make a break with Mackenzie giving chase, but the McAMS Yamaha rider crashed out unhurt at Druids on the eighth lap to end his hopes of a podium finish.

Mackenzie’s crash handed the advantage to Jason O'Halloran, who was battling with Christian Iddon for second place, with the pair again trading blows initially before the McAMS Yamaha rider made a break.

Iddon completed the podium, but behind there was a real scrap for fourth place, going the way of Andrew Irwin, who held off Lee Jackson and Luke Mossey with Danny Buchan in seventh place.

Peter Hickman held onto eighth place ahead of Gino Rea and Tommy Bridewell, completed the top ten ahead of this afternoon’s final race.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch GP, Round 17 result:

  1. Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati)
  2. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +1.085s
  3. Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) +10.880s
  4. Andrew Irwin (Honda Racing) +16.097s
  5. Lee Jackson (Rapid Fulfillment FS-3 Kawasaki) +16.246s
  6. Luke Mossey (Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW) +16.523s
  7. Danny Buchan (Rapid Fulfillment FS-3 Kawasaki) +16.590s
  8. Peter Hickman (Global Robots BMW) +17.889s
  9. Gino Rea (Buildbase Suzuki) +17.964s
  10. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +19.935s

Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings after Brands Hatch Round 17:

  1. Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) 263
  2. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 251
  3. Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) 245
  4. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) 221
  5. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 195