Bennetts British BSB Title Fighter line-up confirmed for the 2022 Showdown

Bennetts British BSB Title Fighter line-up confirmed for the 2022 Showdown

13 September 2022

The final Bennetts British Superbike Championship contenders were decided at Snetterton last weekend with the 2022 Title Fighter line-up confirmed ahead of the opening round of the Showdown at Oulton Park (23/24/25 September).

Bradley Ray heads the standings by 13-points following his triple victory at Snetterton from Jason O'Halloran ahead of the next three races in Cheshire, with four manufacturers and five teams featured in the final three round title battle.

Reigning champion Tarran Mackenzie begins the final stage of his title defence from third in the standings – the exact same deficit he overcame from the start of the crucial final three rounds last year to secure the crown.

Glenn Irwin holds fourth place for Honda Racing UK as he prepares for his third Showdown appearance, just two points ahead of Showdown debutant Lee Jackson for the Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki team.

Kyle Ryde confirmed his first Title Fighter appearance last weekend and he starts the Showdown just a single point adrift of his Kawasaki rival ahead of him, holding sixth in the standings. The 2022 Showdown marks the first time that the Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha team have both riders secured in the Showdown.

Rory Skinner is just a further four points adrift as the young Scot prepares for his first Title Fighter appearance, also making it a Showdown first for the Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki team as they have both riders in title contention ahead of the final three rounds.

Tommy Bridewell currently holds eighth position, just a single point adrift of Skinner ahead of him, but the Oxford Products Racing Ducati rider starts the Showdown as the most experienced Title Fighter, with this year marking his sixth appearance in the final battle for the title.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings ahead of the Showdown:

  1. Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) 1061
  2. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 1048
  3. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 1031
  4. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing UK) 1016
  5. Lee Jackson (Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki) 1014
  6. Kyle Ryde (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) 1013
  7. Rory Skinner (Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) 1009
  8. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) 1008