28 - 30 JUN |

Season’s Greetings from Bennetts BSB

As we all take time to enjoy the festive season and Christmas and the New Year beckon, MSVR would like to thank everyone who made the 2018 Bennetts British Superbike Championship such a success. In particular to the 466,470 spectators who attended events to witness the spectacular action trackside and the many tens of millions more who watched around the globe on television, not forgetting everyone who continued to grow our series by interacting through our dynamic social media channels.

Of course we need to send a huge thank you to all the riders and teams across all the classes who once again provided non-stop entertainment and immeasurable competition at each and every round; your talent, skill, commitment and professionalism continues to make BSB highly respected amongst all other motorsport championships in the world.

Congratulations to Leon Haslam on securing his first Bennetts BSB title victory for the JG Speedfit Kawasaki team and we toast all the other 2017 champions – Jack Kennedy, Jake Archer, Victor Rodriguez, Keith Farmer, Ryan Vickers, Rob Guiver, Rory Skinner and finally Steve Kershaw and Stuart Clark.

2018 saw the return of Bennetts to the British Championship paddock as the title sponsors of the series, and together we have delivered an incredible season, giving their customers an unrivalled rewards programme and fans to get closer to the action at each round of the series.

Our sincere appreciation also goes out to all our commercial and media partners, who are an integral part of the series.

The BSB show would simply not be possible without the commitment and skills of the Racesafe marshals, the race organisation and our outstanding medical team.

2018 delivered an incredible season. There were seven different race winners, including a first for Bradley Ray, with four different manufacturers celebrating victory, demonstrating the strength and depth of competition. To add to the immense competition we witnessed at every round, a further eight riders scored podium finishes, including rookie Tarran Mackenzie.

The final Showdown phase was one of the closest fought in recent years, with the final places only being confirmed in the final race of the Main Season at Silverstone. It featured six different teams, representing five different manufacturers, with Glenn Irwin and Bradley Ray making the cut for the first time.

We have already started the countdown to the opening round of 2019 which will kick off at Silverstone on April 19/20/21. We can’t wait because if this season was anything to go by, we are in for a spectacular new season – with returning contenders, new stars and stunning new machinery.

Our leading two riders this season, champion Leon Haslam and runner-up Jake Dixon, move on to the Superbike World Championship and the Moto2 World Championship respectively, we wish them every success. The changes throughout the grid for the forthcoming season mean that we have a new line-up to look forward to and a new champion to crown in 2019.

Of course this season will also sadly be remembered for Shane Byrne’s serious injury sustained in a testing accident. His racing future remains undetermined, but the series’ most successful ever rider epitomises grit and determination and a return to the track cannot be ruled out.

And don't forget if you can't wait until next April then you can still relive all the action from the 2018 season over the festive season courtesy of ITV4 and British Eurosport.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

Stuart Higgs, MSVR and the entire Bennetts British Superbike Championship team

All external sites will open in a new browser tab/window. MSVR does not endorse or warrant the content of external sites.

©2019 BSB / MotorSport Vision Racing
All rights reserved