O’Halloran heads off Vickers and Brookes after opening day of action in Monteblanco

The 2020 Bennetts British Superbike Championship kicked off with the first official test at Monteblanco in Spain today (Wednesday) as McAMS Yamaha’s Jason O'Halloran set the pace at the end of the opening day, 0.183s ahead of Ryan Vickers with Josh Brookes holding third.

The test marked the first on track action of the season with reigning champions VisionTrack Ducati leading the way at lunchtime with Brookes setting the early benchmark. The 2015 champion held the position until the final 30 minutes of the day, as he bids to go one better after finishing runner-up last season.

Vickers had edged ahead in the closing stages of the day as he returned with the RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki team, building on his debut season and progressing throughout the day. However, in the final ten minutes of the day O’Halloran moved to the top as the team debuted the 2020 BSB specification Yamaha R1 on track.

Christian Iddon ended the day fourth fastest on the second of the VisionTrack Ducatis as he debuted with the team, with Danny Buchan completing the top five for the Massingberd-Mundy Kawasaki.

The Lloyd & Bowker PR Racing BMW team had a strong start to their campaign holding fourth place at the end of the opening day with Joe Francis.

Rich Energy OMG Racing rolled out the BMW S 1000 RRs for the first time at Monteblanco with Héctor Barberá rapidly acquainting himself with his new team. The Spaniard narrowly held off his teammate Luke Mossey with Tommy Bridewell and Dan Linfoot rounding out the top ten.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Official Test, Monteblanco day one combined times:

  1. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 1m:38.092s
  2. Ryan Vickers (RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki) +0.183s
  3. Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) +0.193s
  4. Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) +0.398s
  5. Danny Buchan (Massingberd-Mundy Kawasaki) +0.459s
  6. Joe Francis (Lloyd & Bowker PR Racing BMW) +0.665s
  7. Héctor Barberá (Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW) +0.700s
  8. Luke Mossey (Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW) +0.799s
  9. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Racing Ducati) +0.900s
  10. Dan Linfoot (Santander Salt TAG Yamaha) +1.154s

All external sites will open in a new browser tab/window. MSVR does not endorse or warrant the content of external sites.

©2020 BSB / MotorSport Vision Racing
All rights reserved