19 - 21 APR |

Dixon in full flight to maintain position at the top in second free practice

Jake Dixon maintained his position ahead of his Bennetts British Superbike Championship rivals by setting the pace in a wet second free practice session ahead of Datatag Qualifying tomorrow at Oulton Park for the opening round of the Showdown.

Tommy Bridewell had set the initial benchmark in the session onboard the Moto Rapido Ducati but following a red flag interruption, the riders returned to the track and the times began to tumble.

Dixon was the first to take advantage of the improving conditions to set the pace for the RAF Regular & Reserves Kawasaki team, but Bridewell was soon back on top. The pair traded positions at the top of the times but it was Showdown contender Dixon who had an impressive 1.301s advantage at the chequered flag.

As the conditions improved, the pack continued to shuffle and Jason O'Halloran surged into second in the closing stages, whilst Richard Cooper also proved his pace in both wet and dry conditions to maintain a position inside the top five for Buildbase Suzuki.

James Ellison set the fourth fastest time with a final run of improvements to push himself up the order for the Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha team with Michael Laverty making the top five cut in the final minutes of the session.

Bridewell held sixth place at the chequered flag ahead of Showdown contender Josh Brookes and championship leader Leon Haslam with Andrew Irwin and Luke Mossey completing the top ten. The JG Speedfit Kawasaki improvements nudged Bradley Ray back into eleventh after he had earlier run in the top five.

Showdown contenders Peter Hickman and Glenn Irwin held 16th and 17th place respectively.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, Free Practice 2:

  1. Jake Dixon (RAF Regular & Reserves Kawasaki) 1m:48.099s
  2. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +1.301s
  3. Richard Cooper (Buildbase Suzuki) +1.440s
  4. James Ellison (Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha) 1.509s
  5. Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW) +1.609s
  6. Tommy Bridewell (Moto Rapido Ducati) +1.659s
  7. Josh Brookes (McAMS Yamaha) +1.754s
  8. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +1.760s
  9. Andrew Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) +1.827s
  10. Luke Mossey (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +1.835s

All external sites will open in a new browser tab/window. MSVR does not endorse or warrant the content of external sites.

©2019 BSB / MotorSport Vision Racing
All rights reserved