06 - 08 SEP |

Brookes becomes third different race winner after holding off Bridewell

Josh Brookes became the third different rider to claim a victory in the 2019 Bennetts British Superbike Championship at Oulton Park this afternoon. The 2015 champion held off Tommy Bridewell as Ducati became the third race-winning manufacturer so far this season to celebrate the first win for the new V4R.

Brookes and Bridewell had made a breakaway at the front of the pack with the Oxford Racing Ducati rider shadowing the Australian rider throughout the 17 lap race, but he couldn’t find the opportunity to make a pass and despite piling on the pressure, the Be Wiser Ducati team emerged victorious.

Jason O'Halloran had initially been holding third place over the opening laps but the McAMS Yamaha rider was soon under threat as Danny Buchan carved his way up the order from sixth to close in on the Australian by the tenth lap.

O’Halloran was defending but the FS-3 Racing Kawasaki rider was determined and he made his move and gradually edged out an advantage to the finish line. The battle for fifth went down to the wire between Scott Redding and Peter Hickman, with the Bennetts BSB rookie holding off the challenges of the Smiths Racing BMW rider despite his circuit knowledge to claim a hard-fought fight place.

Keith Farmer was the leading Tyco BMW to cross the finish line at the chequered flag, claiming seventh place as team-mate Christian Iddon was forced to retire despite battling in the top five during the opening stages of the race.

Tarran Mackenzie maintained his position at the top of the championship standings in eighth place despite a race-long battle with rookie Ryan Vickers who impressed in ninth for the RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki team with Josh Elliott completing the top ten.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, Race 1 result:

  1. Josh Brookes (Be Wiser Ducati)
  2. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Racing Ducati) +0.204s
  3. Danny Buchan (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) +3.543s
  4. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +7.307s
  5. Scott Redding (Be Wiser Ducati) +10.529s
  6. Peter Hickman (Smiths Racing BMW) +10.648s
  7. Keith Farmer (Tyco BMW) +15.758s
  8. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) +16.147s
  9. Ryan Vickers (RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki) +16.859s
  10. Josh Elliott (OMG Racing Suzuki) +19.364s

Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings after Oulton Park Race 1:

  1. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 53
  2. Josh Elliott (OMG Racing Suzuki) 51
  3. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Racing Ducati) 44
  4. Danny Buchan (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) 39
  5. Scott Redding (Be Wiser Ducati) 27
  6. Josh Brookes (Be Wiser Ducati) 25

The ninth round of the 2019 Bennetts British Superbike Championship takes place at Oulton Park on September 6/7/8 for the Showdown Title Fighter decider. for more information and to book visit

All external sites will open in a new browser tab/window. MSVR does not endorse or warrant the content of external sites.

©2019 BSB / MotorSport Vision Racing
All rights reserved