10 - 12 APR |

Brookes back on top in dramatic race two at Thruxton

Josh Brookes maintained his impressive winning form at Thruxton this afternoon as the Be Wiser Ducati rider claimed victory in the second Bennetts British Superbike Championship race of the weekend.

The second race had started with a battle for the lead between Jason O'Halloran and Josh Brookes with Peter Hickman and race one winner Andrew Irwin in the mix, but on lap nine the race was red flagged as light rain began to fall.

When the race restarted, Hickman had the jump off the line to lead on the opening lap from Brookes, Andrew Irwin and Tommy Bridewell. On the second lap Brookes was coming under fire from a determined Honda Racing rider, but Dan Linfoot was also on the move and he was up into third ahead of Hickman.

However a crash for Glenn Irwin at the Club chicane caused another red flag when the stricken Tyco BMW was in the middle of the track and leaking fluid. The Racesafe marshals worked to clear the scene before the race was restarted again with an eight-lap sprint to the chequered flag.

On the final restart Brookes wasn’t taking any prisoners and he fired himself into the lead and then went to make a break, eventually crossing the line 4.276s ahead of the chasing pack to claim his fifth victory of the season for Be Wiser Ducati.

Brookes said: “Tyre conservation is on your mind all weekend here at Thruxton so with the second race going from 20 laps to 13 laps and then down to eight laps, I could ride exactly how I wanted to and just went full speed as the tyre was always going to last eight laps.

“I just got my head down and went for it and whilst it may not have been as close as the first race, I enjoyed it a lot more. The field is so level now, every race is tough but Pirelli have done a great job with the tyres and they’re a little bit easier to manage around here now and although I still wanted more from myself, I was happy with the first race podium.

“I got pushed around a bit too much on track and needed to find a little bit more confidence, so the second race win has given me exactly what I needed and it’s great to be back on the top step.”

The battle for second ensued behind with Andrew Irwin and Hickman banging fairings in their quest to break into the top six in the standings. The pair were trading blows with Bridewell, Hickman, Iddon, O’Halloran and Redding also all in the mix.

However, a mistake on lap three saw Redding run on at Club and having not completed the re-join into the race correctly, he was issued a long lap penalty. The Be Wiser Ducati rider had three laps to complete the long lap as the race laps counted down, however he failed to do so, and despite crossing the line in a podium position, he was issued the ride through equivalent penalty of 15 seconds. That dropped him down to 22nd and outside of the points.  

Andrew Irwin meanwhile had his strongest weekend of his career claiming a second place in race two, ahead of Hickman who was third to take the first podium finish for the new BMW S1000 RR. Jason O'Halloran meanwhile had completed his best performance of the season to finish in fourth place for McAMS Yamaha, holding off Bridewell in the closing stages.

Iddon equalled his best race result of the season in sixth place ahead of Xavi Forés, who just dropped outside of the top six in the points ahead of Cadwell Park. Danny Buchan maintained his position inside the top six with an eighth place ahead of Luke Mossey and Dan Linfoot who completed the top ten.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Thruxton, Race 2 result:

  1. Josh Brookes (Be Wiser Ducati)
  2. Andrew Irwin (Honda Racing) +4.276s
  3. Peter Hickman (Smiths BMW) +4.288s
  4. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +4.534s
  5. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Racing Ducati) +5.345s
  6. Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) +5.660s
  7. Xavi Forés (Honda Racing) +5.970s
  8. Danny Buchan (FS3 Racing Kawasaki) +7.500s
  9. Luke Mossey (OMG Suzuki) +7.708s
  10. Dan Linfoot (TAG Racing) +7.883s

Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings after Thruxton:

  1. Scott Redding (Be Wiser Ducati) 246
  2. Josh Brookes (Be Wiser Ducati) 226
  3. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Racing Ducati) 207
  4. Danny Buchan (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) 150
  5. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 144
  6. Andrew Irwin (Honda Racing) 139

All external sites will open in a new browser tab/window. MSVR does not endorse or warrant the content of external sites.

©2020 BSB / MotorSport Vision Racing
All rights reserved