25 - 27 JUN |

Glenn Irwin shatters record in penultimate Silverstone session

Glenn Irwin set an incredible lap time in the penultimate session at the Bennetts British Superbike Championship official test at Silverstone this afternoon, posting the fastest ever Bennetts BSB lap of the National circuit by 0.090s for Honda Racing.

The lap record was set by Jason O'Halloran last year, but Glenn Irwin dipped beneath both that and the fastest lap set in Qualifying last year by Danny Buchan (53.229s) to put himself 0.061s clear at the top of the times ahead of Tarran Mackenzie.

Mackenzie had been strong throughout, leading the McAMS Yamaha pairing and running in the leading position earlier in the session. He ended just 0.150s ahead of his teammate O’Halloran, who had also been at the top of the times earlier in the session.

Christian Iddon was fourth fastest as the VisionTrack Ducati rider set a best time that was 0.346s adrift of Glenn Irwin at the top. He had also been at the sharp end throughout the 40-minute session, holding off Ryan Vickers who completed the top five for the RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki team.

Xavi Forés was the fastest of the BMW contenders; he set the sixth fastest time for FHO Racing BMW, putting him narrowly ahead of Kyle Ryde on the Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW.

Danny Kent had set the pace before lunch and he held eighth place for Buildbase Suzuki with Andrew Irwin and Gino Rea completing the top ten with one session remaining.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship Official Test, Silverstone, Session 7:

  1. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) 53.139s
  2. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) +0.061s
  3. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +0.211s
  4. Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) +0.346s
  5. Ryan Vickers (RAF Regular and Reserve Kawasaki) +0.414s
  6. Xavi Forés (FHO Racing BMW) +0.452s
  7. Kyle Ryde (Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW) +0.467s
  8. Danny Kent (Buildbase Suzuki) +0.504s
  9. Andrew Irwin (SYNETIQ BMW) +0.591s
  10. Gino Rea (Buildbase Suzuki) +0.663s

All external sites will open in a new browser tab/window. MSVR does not endorse or warrant the content of external sites.

©2021 BSB / MotorSport Vision Racing
All rights reserved