Shakey claims first 2017 win as Haslam dramatically crashes out

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne claimed his first win of the 2017 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship season at Oulton Park this afternoon as standings leader Leon Haslam dramatically crashed out after clipping James Ellison, who suffered a technical issue.

Haslam had hit the front of the pack from Jason O'Halloran, Ellison and Byrne on the opening lap, but the Honda Racing rider was on the attack and he moved into the lead on the second lap, but it was short lived as Ellison then had his spell at the front.

The race was over prematurely for Jake Dixon as he crashed out on the third lap unhurt, but at the front Byrne was closing in on Ellison and on the sixth lap he made his move on the run into Shell Oils corner. Meanwhile Michael Laverty on the second McAMS Yamaha retired from the race just a lap later.

 At the front Byrne had snatched the lead from Ellison, but behind the JG Speedfit Kawasakis of Haslam and Luke Mossey were trading blows with O’Halloran, with the trio switching positions consistently over the following laps.

Christian Iddon, Josh Brookes, Glenn Irwin and Peter Hickman were then all involved in the battle for the podium spots too, but in second and third Ellison was coming under fire from Haslam. The championship leader first tried to make a move at Shell, but ran wide and then had to begin a fight back.

However it ended in disaster for the JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider when he clipped the back of Ellison on the 14th lap when Ellison’s McAMS Yamaha suddenly slowed. Haslam was down and out of the race and the damage consequently sidelined Ellison too, leaving Byrne to continue edging an advantage at the front of the pack to return to the top step.

A frantic battle then ensued for the final podium place with a five-way scrap for the final podium position. Iddon was bumped down to fourth over the closing laps as Irwin and O’Halloran pushed into the top three.

Mossey was fifth at the chequered flag as he held off Josh Brookes on the Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha and Smiths Racing BMW’s Peter Hickman. Tommy Bridewell, John Hopkins and Billy McConnell completed the top ten.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, Race two result:

  1. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati)
  2. Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) +5.218s
  3. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +5.309s
  4. Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) +5.574s
  5. Luke Mossey (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +5.881s
  6. Josh Brookes (Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha) +6.025s
  7. Peter Hickman (Smiths Racing BMW) +19.130s
  8. Tommy Bridewell (Team WD-40 Kawasaki) +19.130s
  9. John Hopkins (Moto Rapido Ducati) +20.293s
  10. Billy McConnell (Quattro Plant FS-3 Kawasaki) +20.431s

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship standings after Knockhill:

  1. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 111
  2. Luke Mossey (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 108
  3. Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) 86
  4. Josh Brookes (Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha) 67
  5. Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) 63
  6. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) 61

All external sites will open in a new browser tab/window. MSVR does not endorse or warrant the content of external sites.

©2017 BSB / MotorSport Vision Racing
All rights reserved