02 - 04 OCT |

Ryde makes it a Magnificent Seven with debut Bennetts BSB win

Kyle Ryde celebrated an emotional first race win in the Bennetts British Superbike Championship at Silverstone this afternoon, becoming the seventh different rider to achieve victory as the Buildbase Suzuki team became the fifth different winning team in 2020.

At the start of the race Ryde and Josh Brookes were dicing for the lead, with the VisionTrack Ducati rider hitting the front of the field on lap two, and the Australian held the position despite pressure from his rival until the closing stages.

Ryde was able to make a move with three laps remaining to push Brookes back into second and the Buildbase Suzuki rider then posted some rapid laps to break from Brookes and Jason O'Halloran in third, to cross the finish line with a 1m.686s advantage.

However the podium battle went down to the wire and Brookes was able to hold off O’Halloran as the McAMS Yamaha rider returned to the podium, whilst his teammate and yesterday’s race winner Tarran Mackenzie was forced out of action with a technical problem earlier in the race.

Championship leader Glenn Irwin had fought himself into fourth place, which was enough to maintain his advantage at the top of the standings for Honda Racing. He broke clear of the chasing pack as an intense battle for fifth place raged.

After some incredibly close battles and the order constantly changing, Bradley Ray equaled his best result of the season with a fifth place for SYNETIQ BMW, holding off Tommy Bridewell who moved up the order in the closing stages.

Lee Jackson held off his Rapid Fulfillment FS-3 Kawasaki teammate Danny Buchan for eighth place, as the pair diced with Ray and Bridewell with Andrew Irwin claiming ninth place, dropping one position from where he crossed the line for exceeding track limits on the final lap at turn seven.

Héctor Barberá completed the top ten for the Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW team.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Silverstone, Round 8 result:

  1. Kyle Ryde (Buildbase Suzuki)
  2. Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) +1.686s
  3. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +1.760s
  4. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) +3.383s
  5. Bradley Ray (SYNETIQ BMW) +10.592s
  6. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +10.984s
  7. Lee Jackson (Rapid Fulfillment FS-3 Kawasaki) +11.183s
  8. Danny Buchan (Rapid Fulfillment FS-3 Kawasaki) +13.279s
  9. Andrew Irwin (Honda Racing)
  10. Héctor Barberá (Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW) +13.416s

Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings after Round 8:

  1. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) 144
  2. Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) 112
  3. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) 111
  4. Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) 97
  5. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 97
  6. Kyle Ryde (Buildbase Suzuki) 89
  7. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 81
  8. Andrew Irwin (Honda Racing) 76
  9. Lee Jackson (Rapid Fulfillment FS-3 Kawasaki) 70
  10. Bradley Ray (SYNETIQ BMW) 45

All external sites will open in a new browser tab/window. MSVR does not endorse or warrant the content of external sites.

©2020 BSB / MotorSport Vision Racing
All rights reserved