Haslam back to winning ways as Byrne makes podium return

Leon Haslam scored his third win of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship season at Oulton Park as the JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider fended off the challenge from Shane 'Shakey' Byrne and Luke Mossey.

Haslam hit the front of the pack from the start of the race with Byrne and Mossey hounding him throughout the race, but the championship leader had that little bit extra over the closing laps of the race. Byrne was delighted with his return to the podium after missing out at the opening two rounds as Mossey completed the top three.

The chasing pack were a freight train of riders and on the final lap the Honda Racing team emerged ahead as Jason O'Halloran made a last lap move on Peter Hickman to claim the position at the line. McAMS Yamaha’s James Ellison completed a strong race to move through the order to be in the fight for fourth at the end of the race, he moved sixth to emerge as the top Yamaha rider, pushing Josh Brookes to seventh in the closing stages.

Christian Iddon was the leading BMW in eighth place as he managed to get the better of Glenn Irwin; the Be Wiser Ducati rider had earlier saved a huge moment whilst battling for fourth place. Jake Dixon completed the top ten for RAF Reserves Kawasaki.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, Race one result:

  1. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki)
  2. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) +2.632s
  3. Luke Mossey (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +5.169s
  4. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +9.271s
  5. Peter Hickman (Smiths Racing BMW) +9.343s
  6. James Ellison (McAMS Yamaha) +9.501s
  7. Josh Brookes (Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha) +10.264s
  8. Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) +10.416s
  9. Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) +11.304s
  10. Jake Dixon (RAF Reserves Kawasaki) +11.688s

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship standings after Oulton Park race one:

  1. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki)111
  2. Luke Mossey (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 97
  3. Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) 73
  4. Josh Brookes (Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha) 57
  5. Peter Hickman (Smiths Racing BMW) 48
  6. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) 45

All external sites will open in a new browser tab/window. MSVR does not endorse or warrant the content of external sites.

©2017 BSB / MotorSport Vision Racing
All rights reserved