02 - 04 OCT |

Andrew Irwin puts the brakes on brother Glenn to win Bennetts BSB race two

Andrew Irwin put the brakes on his brother Glenn winning the second Bennetts British Superbike Championship race of the weekend at Donington Park, with a last lap move on the brakes into Roberts in an incredibly close battle for the victory.

At the start of the race Josh Brookes got the launch off the pole position onboard the VisionTrack Ducati, but into the Old Hairpin Glenn Irwin had made a move to lead the pack ahead of his Australian rival and a freight train of riders including Tommy Bridewell and Christian Iddon.

Iddon was on the move though and he was soon in third place on the second VisionTrack Ducati with Andrew Irwin for company after the Honda Racing rider had recovered from a big moment on the opening lap.

The leading trio then was headed by Glenn Irwin ahead of his brother Andrew by lap five when he pulled a sensational manoeuvre around the outside of Iddon at Craner Curves. However, Jason O'Halloran had also carved his way into contention and he was holding fourth place for McAMS Yamaha by lap six.

O’Halloran was soon under pressure from Tommy Bridewell and the Oxford Products Racing Ducati rider made his move on the seventh lap, and then was defending hard as he bid to move up the order in the leading pack. O’Halloran was ready to fight back and he had moved back ahead by lap 13 as Bridewell then came under attack from Danny Buchan, with the pair trading places during the lap.

O’Halloran meanwhile had Iddon in his sights and he made a pass to edge ahead on lap 16 to put him his McAMS Yamaha within striking distance of the two Honda Racing teammates before Bridewell nudged Iddon back a further place as he moved into fourth position.

O’Halloran then moved into second with five laps remaining with a decisive move on Andrew Irwin but he wasn’t giving up the position and he seized the opportunity to regain the position at Schwantz Curve.

As Glenn and Andrew Irwin held 1-2 positions on the track Bridewell made his move to snatch third place from O’Halloran as he joined the fight for the victory. However, on lap 24 a small error cost dearly as he ran through the gravel at Roberts and whilst he was able to save a crash he had to rejoin further down the field, but was able to fight back to ninth at the finish.

At the front Glenn Irwin was still holding off Andrew Irwin at the front with O’Halloran eager to get the better of the Honda Racing riders. The trio were locked together over the final lap but on the brakes into Roberts Andrew was able to dive down the inside to take the lead to the line.

The move had pushed brother Glenn wide, but he was able to cross the line second and just 0.094s ahead of O’Halloran who claimed his first podium finish of 2020 for McAMS Yamaha.

Kyle Ryde had an incredible race to score his best result in fourth place for the Buildbase Suzuki team after a last lap move on Buchan who completed the top five for Massingberd-Mundy Kawasaki.

Brookes was able to regain some ground he lost earlier in the race to claim sixth place at the chequered flag ahead of Tarran Mackenzie and Iddon.

Héctor Barberá was tenth for the Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW team after pushing Ryan Vickers just outside the top ten.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Donington Park, race two result:

  1. Andrew Irwin (Honda Racing)
  2. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) +0.194s
  3. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +0.288s
  4. Kyle Ryde (Buildbase Suzuki) +1.035s
  5. Danny Buchan (Massingberd-Mundy Kawasaki) +1.411s
  6. Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) +3.557s
  7. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) +3.817s
  8. Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) +4.156s
  9. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +5.437s
  10. Héctor Barberá (Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW) +5.757s

Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings after Donington Park race two:

  1. Andrew Irwin (Honda Racing) 50
  2. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) 40
  3. Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) 26
  4. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 24
  5. Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) 21
  6. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 18
  7. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) 18
  8. Kyle Ryde (Buildbase Suzuki) 13
  9. Ryan Vickers (RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki) 12
  10. Danny Buchan (Massingberd-Mundy Kawasaki) 11

All external sites will open in a new browser tab/window. MSVR does not endorse or warrant the content of external sites.

©2020 BSB / MotorSport Vision Racing
All rights reserved